Skip Nav

Full List of Winners at the 2010 Independent Spirit Awards

Announcing the Winners: The 2010 Independent Spirit Awards

Before the focus shifts to Avatar and The Hurt Locker at the Oscars, some of Hollywood's smaller (but equally wonderful) movies stepped into the spotlight at the Independent Spirit Awards. Precious led the way with five awards, including trophies for Gabourey Sidibe, director Lee Daniels, yet another for Mo'Nique, and the night's biggest—best feature.

The night marked yet another win for Jeff Bridges and Crazy Heart, while Woody Harrelson took home the award for best supporting actor. I was super psyched to see that some of my favourite movies of the year, like (500) Days of Summer and An Education also got some recognition. Check out all the big winners when you keep reading.


BEST DIRECTOR Lee Daniels (Precious)

BEST FIRST FEATURE (Award given to the director and producer)

Crazy Heart

Director: Scott Cooper

Producers: Scott Cooper, T Bone Burnett, Judy Cairo, Rob Carliner, Robert Duvall

BEST MALE LEAD Jeff Bridges (Crazy Heart)

BEST FEMALE LEAD Gabourey Sidibe (Precious)

BEST SUPPORTING MALE Woody Harrelson (The Messenger)


BEST SCREENPLAY Scott Neustadter, Michael H. Weber ((500) Days of Summer)

BEST FIRST SCREENPLAY Geoffrey Fletcher (Precious)

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY Roger Deakins (A Serious Man)

JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD (Given to the best feature made for under $500,000; award given to the writer, director, and producer) Humpday

BEST DOCUMENTARY Anvil! The Story of Anvil


ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD (Given to one film’s director, casting director, and its ensemble cast) A Serious Man

IFC/ACURA SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD Kyle Patrick Alvarez (Easier With Practice)

TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD Bill Ross and Turner Ross (45365)

Image Source: Getty
More from POPSUGAR
From Our Partners
Latest Celebrity