The Chronological Order of Star Wars Films, in Case You've Forgotten

Everett Collection

If you’re not a diehard Star Wars fan but you’ve still seen every film in the franchise, you deserve a pat on the back. There are a ton of them, and it’s no small task devoting all that time to Han Solo, Luke Skywalker, Princess Leia, Rey, and all the other iconic characters over the years.

As new Star Wars series keep premiering on Disney+, it can be complicated keeping the chronology straight. So if you’re wondering where “The Mandolorian,” “The Book of Boba Fett,” and “Andor” fit in to the greater universe, let this guide help you out. And if, like Hayden Christensen, you want to go deep into Star Wars lore when watching “Obi-Wan Kenobi,” we’ve got you covered.

First Star Wars Movie

Technically, “Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope” was the first Star Wars movie, released in 1977. But chronologically, the “Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace” prequel is the first movie that takes place in the universe.

How Many Star Wars Movies Are There?

As of “Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker,” there are 11 Star Wars movies.

Star Wars Movies in Order of Release

1. “Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope” (1977)
2. “Star Wars: Episode V – The Empire Strikes Back” (1980)
3. “Star Wars: Episode VI – Return of the Jedi” (1983)
4. “Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace” (1999)
5. “Star Wars: Episode II – Attack of the Clones” (2002)
6. “Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge of the Sith” (2005)
7. “Star Wars: The Force Awakens” (2015)
8. “Rogue One: A Star Wars Story” (2016)
9. “Star Wars: The Last Jedi” (2017)
10. “Solo: A Star Wars Story” (2018)
11. “Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker” (2019)

Here are the Star Wars movies in chronological order.

Related Posts
Latest Celebrity
The End.

The next story, coming up!