The Chronological Order of Star Wars Films, in Case You’ve Forgotten

Everett Collection / Jonathan Olley

If you’re not a diehard Star Wars fan but you’ve still seen every film in the franchise, you deserve a pat on the back. There are a ton of them, and it’s no small task devoting all that time to Han Solo, Luke Skywalker, Princess Leia, Rey, and all the other iconic characters over the years.

While, in recent years, most new Star Wars stories have come through Disney+, a galaxy far, far, away is gearing up once again for some new movie releases. Back in April, Lucasfilm announced Daisy Ridley would reprise her role as Rey in a new Star Wars film focused on her attempts to rebuild the Jedi Order. Directed by “Ms. Marvel”‘s Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy, it’s set to be the first Star Wars film since “The Rise of Skywalker” was released in 2019.

Plus, there’s the news that Donald Glover is currently hard at work on a Lando Calrissian movie. The film, which will be a spinoff of 2018’s “Solo,” will see Glover return to the character first made famous by Billy Dee Williams. There are also other Star Wars films in development from creators like Taika Waititi, Dave Filoni, Shawn Levy, and James Mangold.

Then there are the many Star Wars TV series, including “The Mandalorian,” “Ahsoka,” “Obi-Wan Kenobi,” and the upcoming second season of “Andor.” Brand new series “The Skeleton Crew” and “The Acolyte” are also on the way.

So if you’re wondering where your favorite characters fit into the galaxy’s film timeline, this guide to the Star Wars movies will help you out.

Related: Adria Arjona, Genevieve O’Reilly, and the Women of “Andor” Break Down the Thrilling First Season

First Star Wars Movie

Technically, “Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope” was the first Star Wars movie, released in 1977. But chronologically, the “Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace” prequel is the first movie that takes place in the universe.

How Many Star Wars Movies Are There?

As of “Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker,” there are 11 Star Wars movies.

Star Wars Movies in Order of Release

  1. “Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope” (1977)
  2. “Star Wars: Episode V – The Empire Strikes Back” (1980)
  3. “Star Wars: Episode VI – Return of the Jedi” (1983)
  4. “Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace” (1999)
  5. “Star Wars: Episode II – Attack of the Clones” (2002)
  6. “Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge of the Sith” (2005)
  7. “Star Wars: The Force Awakens” (2015)
  8. “Rogue One: A Star Wars Story” (2016)
  9. “Star Wars: The Last Jedi” (2017)
  10. “Solo: A Star Wars Story” (2018)
  11. “Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker” (2019)

Keep reading to see all of the Star Wars movies in chronological order.

Related Posts
Latest Celebrity
The End.

The next story, coming up!