The Full, Chronological Timeline of All the Conjuring Movies – So Far

Everett Collection / Cos Aelenei

This fall’s “The Nun II” is a direct sequel to 2018’s “The Nun,” but the movie is actually the ninth installment in what’s been dubbed the Conjuring Universe. The horror franchise initially began with stories tied to paranormal investigations led by famed demonologists Ed and Lorraine Warren. Ed and Lorraine were real people who claimed to be paranormal investigators, though many critics have questioned if they were the real deal or just master manipulators. Even then, the film franchise takes many, many liberties with the stories of their lives. Though there lives have inspired films before, the Conjuring franchise as we currently know it started with 2013’s “The Conjuring,” starring Patrick Wilson as Ed and Vera Farmiga as Lorraine.

Since then, we’ve gotten eight more movies, including “The Nun II,” and they make a universe filled with haunted dolls, demonic nuns, and Satanic possessions. But if you’re new to the Conjuring Universe (or even if you’re not), it might be hard to keep the chronological timeline of the films straight. Ahead, we break down the chronological order of the Conjuring Universe, from “The Nun” to “The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It.”

Additional reporting by Grayson Gilcrease

Related: 17 Horror Movies on Hulu That Will Scare You to Your Core

Related Posts
Latest Celebrity
The End.

The next story, coming up!