2023 MTV VMA Winners: See the Full List

2023 mtv vmas winners

The 2023 MTV VMAs celebrated some of the biggest and brighter music stars of the year. The ceremony awarded Moon Person trophies to artists including Ice Spice, Nicki Minaj, Anitta, Tomorrow X Together, SZA, and many more. Taylor Swift was perhaps the night’s biggest winner, taking home multiple awards including Video of the Year for her hit song, “Anti-Hero”. The ceremony also honoured two legends: Shakira received the Video Vanguard Awards and Diddy was awarded the Global Icon Award.

This year’s nominees were announced back in August, and Swift led the bunch with a total of eight nominations, including seven nods for her song “Anti-Hero” from “Midnights,” as well as a nomination for Artist of the Year. SZA had the second most nominations with a total of six, followed by Olivia Rodrigo, Nicki Minaj, Doja Cat, Kim Petras, Sam Smith, and Miley Cyrus, who all trail behind with five each.

Ahead, check out the complete list of nominees for the 2023 MTV VMAs, and all the winners.

2023 MTV VMAs Winners List

Video of the Year

Doja Cat — “Attention”
Miley Cyrus — “Flowers”
Nicki Minaj — “Super Freaky Girl”
Olivia Rodrigo — “Vampire”
Sam Smith and Kim Petras — “Unholy”
SZA — “Kill Bill”
Taylor Swift — “Anti-Hero” — WINNER

Artist of the Year

Doja Cat
Karol G
Nicki Minaj
Taylor Swift

Song of the Year

Miley Cyrus — “Flowers”
Olivia Rodrigo — “Vampire”
Rema and Selena Gomez — “Calm Down”
Sam Smith and Kim Petras — “Unholy”
Steve Lacy — “Bad Habit”
SZA — “Kill Bill”
Taylor Swift — “Anti-Hero” — WINNER

Best New Artist

Ice Spice — WINNER
Peso Pluma
Reneé Rapp

Push Performance of the Year

August 2022: Saucy Santana — “Booty”
September 2022: Stephen Sanchez — “Until I Found You”
October 2022: JVKE — “Golden Hour”
November 2022: Flo Milli — “Conceited”
December 2022: Reneé Rapp — “Colorado”
January 2023: Sam Ryder — “All the Way Over”
February 2023: Armani White — “Goated.”
March 2023: Fletcher — “Becky’s So Hot”
April 2023: Tomorrow X Together — “Sugar Rush Ride” — WINNER
May 2023: Ice Spice — “Princess Diana”
June 2023: Flo — “Losing You”
July 2023: Lauren Spencer Smith — “That Part”

Best Collaboration

David Guetta and Bebe Rexha — “I’m Good (Blue)”
Post Malone and Doja Cat — “I Like You (A Happier Song)”
Diddy feat. Bryson Tiller, Ashanti, and Yung Miami — “Gotta Move On (Queens Remix)”
Karol G and Shakira — “TQG” — WINNER
Metro Boomin feat. The Weeknd, 21 Savage, and Diddy — “Creepin’ (Remix)”
Rema and Selena Gomez — “Calm Down”

Best Pop

Demi Lovato — “Swine”
Dua Lipa — “Dance the Night”
Ed Sheeran — “Eyes Closed”
Miley Cyrus — “Flowers”
Olivia Rodrigo — “Vampire”
Pink — “Trustfall”
Taylor Swift — “Anti-Hero” — WINNER

Best Hip-Hop

Diddy feat. Bryson Tiller, Ashanti, and Yung Miami — “Gotta Move On (Queens Remix)”
DJ Khaled feat. Drake and Lil Baby — “Staying Alive”
GloRilla and Cardi B — “Tomorrow 2”
Lil Uzi Vert — “Just Wanna Rock”
Lil Wayne feat. Swizz Beatz and DMX — “Kant Nobody”
Metro Boomin feat. Future — “Superhero (Heroes and Villains)”
Nicki Minaj — “Super Freaky Girl” — WINNER

Best Rock

Foo Fighters — “The Teacher”
Linkin Park — “Lost (Original Version)”
Red Hot Chili Peppers — “Tippa My Tongue”
Måneskin — “The Loneliest” — WINNER
Metallica — “Lux Æterna”
Muse — “You Make Me Feel Like It’s Halloween”

Best Alternative

Blink-182 — “Edging”
Boygenius — “The Film”
Fall Out Boy — “Hold Me Like a Grudge”
Lana Del Rey feat. Jon Batiste — “Candy Necklace”
Paramore — “This Is Why”
Thirty Seconds to Mars — “Stuck”

Best Latin

Anitta — “Funk Rave” — WINNER
Bad Bunny — “Where She Goes”
Eslabon Armado and Peso Pluma — “Ella Baila Sola”
Grupo Frontera and Bad Bunny — “un x100to”
Karol G and Shakira — “TQG”
Rosalía — “Despechá”
Shakira — “Acróstico”

Best R&B

Alicia Keys feat. Lucky Daye — “Stay”
Chlöe feat. Chris Brown — “How Does It Feel”
Metro Boomin feat. The Weeknd, 21 Savage, and Diddy — “Creepin’ (Remix)”
SZA — “Shirt” — WINNER
Toosii — “Favorite Song”
Yung Bleu and Nicki Minaj — “Love in the Way”

Best K-Pop

Aespa — “Girls”
Blackpink — “Pink Venom”
Fifty Fifty — “Cupid”
Seventeen — “Super”
Stray Kids — “S-Class” — WINNER
Tomorrow X Together — “Sugar Rush Ride”

Best Afrobeats

Ayra Starr — “Rush”
Burna Boy — “It’s Plenty”
Davido feat. Musa Keys — “Unavailable”
Fireboy DML and Asake — “Bandana”
Libianca — “People”
Rema and Selena Gomez — “Calm Down” — WINNER
Wizkid feat. Ayra Starr — “2 Sugar”

Video for Good

Alicia Keys — “If I Ain’t Got You (Orchestral)”
Bad Bunny — “El Apagón – Aquí Vive Gente”
Demi Lovato — “Swine”
Dove Cameron — “Breakfast” — WINNER
Imagine Dragons — “Crushed”
Maluma — “La Reina”

Best Cinematography

Adele — “I Drink Wine,” cinematography by Adam Newport-Berra
Ed Sheeran — “Eyes Closed,” cinematography by Natasha Braier
Janelle Monáe — “Lipstick Lover,” cinematography by Allison Anderson
Kendrick Lamar — “Count Me Out,” cinematography by Adam Newport-Berra
Miley Cyrus — “Flowers,” cinematography by Marcell Rév
Olivia Rodrigo — “Vampire,” cinematography by Russ Fraser
Taylor Swift — “Anti-Hero,” cinematography by Rina Yang

Best Direction

Doja Cat — “Attention,” directed by Tanu Muino
Drake — “Falling Back,” directed by Director X
Kendrick Lamar — “Count Me Out,” directed by Dave Free and Kendrick Lamar
Megan Thee Stallion — “Her,” directed by Colin Tilley
Sam Smith and Kim Petras — “Unholy,” directed by Floria Sigismondi
SZA — “Kill Bill,” directed by Christian Breslauer
Taylor Swift — “Anti-Hero,” directed by Taylor Swift — WINNER

Best Art Direction

Boygenius — “The Film,” art direction by Jen Dunlap
Blackpink — “Pink Venom,” art direction by Seo Hyun Seung (Gigant)
Doja Cat — “Attention,” art direction by Spencer Graves
Lana Del Rey feat. Jon Batiste — “Candy Necklace,” art direction by Brandon Mendez
Megan Thee Stallion — “Her,” art direction by Niko Philipides
SZA — “Shirt,” art direction by Kate Bunch

Best Visual Effects

Fall Out Boy — “Love From the Other Side,” visual effects by Thomas Bailey and Josh Shaffner
Harry Styles — “Music For a Sushi Restaurant,” visual effects by Chelsea Delfino and Black Kite Studios
Melanie Martinez — “Void,” visual effects by Carbon
Nicki Minaj — “Super Freaky Girl,” visual effects by Max Colt and Sergii Mashevskyi
Sam Smith and Kim Petras — “Unholy,” visual effects by Max Colt/Frendr
Taylor Swift — “Anti-Hero,” visual effects by Parliament

Best Choreography

Blackpink — “Pink Venom,” choreography by Kiel Tutin, Sienna Lalau, Lee Jung, and Taryn Cheng
Dua Lipa — “Dance the Night,” choreography by Charm LaDonna
Jonas Brothers — “Waffle House,” choreography by Jerry Reeve
Megan Thee Stallion — “Her,” choreography by Sean Bankhead
Panic! at the Disco — “Middle of a Breakup,” choreography by Monika Felice Smith
Sam Smith and Kim Petras — “Unholy,” choreography by (LA)Horde — Marine Brutti, Jonathan Debrouwer, and Arthur Harel

Best Editing

Blackpink — “Pink Venom,” edited by Seo Hyun Seung
Kendrick Lamar — “Rich Spirit,” edited by Grason Caldwell
Miley Cyrus — “River,” edited by Brendan Walter
Olivia Rodrigo — “Vampire,” edited by Sofia Kerpan and David Checel
SZA — “Kill Bill,” edited by Luis Caraza Peimbert
Taylor Swift — “Anti-Hero,” edited by Chancler Haynes

Want some entertainment stories? Click through the articles below:

Related Posts
Latest Celebrity
The End.

The next story, coming up!