Skip Nav

2017 CFDA Award Nominations

The Definitive List of Fashion's Biggest Stars, Game Changers, and Innovators Is Here

The annual list of CFDA Award nominees was released on Thursday evening, following a reception in NYC. It's the rundown of the industry's biggest stars and rising talents. Some names have appeared for seasons, like Marc Jacobs and Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen; but that doesn't mean newcomers don't stand a chance. In fact, the 2016 womenswear designer of the year spotlighted the husband and wife duo behind Brock Collection, who quickly became the brand to watch at Fall 2017 Fashion Week and beyond and ended up on the list again this year, a sure sign of the kind of clout the award carries.

So who else got a nod? This year's roster includes honoree Kenneth Cole, a recipient for the first-ever Swarovski Award for Positive Change, for his commitment to civic service. You'll also find the buzzy designer behind Balenciaga and Vetements, Demna Gvasalia, being honored with the international award. See the complete list of nominations and honorees below, and be sure to tune in in June to see who ends up in the winners' circle at the 2017 CFDA Awards.

Womenswear Designer of the Year Award

  • Joseph Altuzarra for Altuzarra
  • Raf Simons for Calvin Klein
  • Marc Jacobs
  • Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler
  • Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

Menswear Designer of the Year Award

  • Raf Simons for Calvin Klein
  • Robert Geller
  • Tim Coppens
  • Thom Browne
  • Todd Snyder

Accessory Designer of the Year Award

  • Stuart Vevers for Coach
  • Irene Neuwirth
  • Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel
  • Paul Andrew
  • Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent

  • Laura Vassar Brock and Kristopher Brock for Brock Collection
  • Gabriela Hearst, Laura Kim, and Fernando Garcia for Monse
  • Virgil Abloh for Off-White
  • Sander Lak for Sies Marjan

Swarovski Award for Positive Change

  • Presented to Kenneth Cole

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Presented to Rick Owens

The Founder's Award

  • Presented to Pat McGrath

International Award

  • Demna Gvasalia for Vetements and Balenciaga

Board of Directors' Tribute

  • Cecile Richards, Gloria Steinem, and Janelle Monáe

Fashion Icon Award

  • Posthumously presented to Franca Sozzani
Image Source: BFA
More from POPSUGAR
From Our Partners
Karlie Kloss Teams Up With Adidas For Her First Collection
Farm Rio x Levis Drop
Ciara and Russell Wilson Launch Their Own Fashion House
Rihanna Wears Lingerie in Savage x Fenty's December Campaign
How to Preorder Telfar x UGG's Shopper Bags
Dear Fashion Industry Campaign Demands Size Representation
Halima Aden Speaks Out About Her Hijab Journey in Fashion
Drake Teased a Collection With Nike Coming in December
Juicy Couture Relaunches Its Website With New Tracksuits
Assembly Label Curing Homesickness T-Shirts 2020
Shop Jimmy Fallon's P'Jimmies Sleepwear With Alex Mill
Molly Goddard Wedding Dress Collection 2020/2021
Latest Fashion