Skip Nav

Gelatin Is Made Out of What?

You'll Never Eat Another Gummy Bear or Marshmallow Again After Hearing What It's Made From

If you look at the ingredients on a package of gummy bears — even organic ones — you'll see expected things like corn or brown rice syrup and sugar. But you'll also see something called gelatin. Seems innocent enough, but its source might surprise you. Gelatin is a yellowish, odourless, and nearly tasteless substance that is made by prolonged boiling of skin, cartilage, and bones from animals. It's made primarily from the stuff meat industries have left over — we're talking about pork skins, horns, and cattle bones. Ugh.

I guess if you're into the philosophy of using the whole animal, you'll be psyched about this. Plus gelatin contains 18 amino acids, so it does offer some nutritional benefits. But if you're vegan, you'll definitely want to skip the chewy candies and your great-aunt's Jell-O mould — it's made with gelatin, too. This animal-derived ingredient can also be found in some vitamins and medications, marshmallows (not Trader Joe's — they're vegan!), cheeses, yoghurts, soups, salad dressings, jams and jellies, fruit snacks, and canned hams. If this tidbit of info grosses you out, you'll want to pay closer attention to these products' food labels.

Related: Should You Avoid Maltodextrin?

More from POPSUGAR
From Our Partners
The 12 Best Chickpea Snacks and Foods
How to Air-Fry Pumfu, Pumpkin Tofu
5 Foods That Are High in Zinc
How to Meal Prep Steel Cut Oats
How the Keto Diet Affects Your Digestion
Why Do I Get Thirsty at Night?
Lizzo's TikTok Celebrating 6 Months Vegan and Loving Herself
Vegan Apple Cinnamon Sheet Pan Protein Pancakes
Vegan Marshmallow Pumpkin Pie Recipe
2-Ingredient Vegan Chocolate Sauce Recipe
Here’s How to Know If You Should Be Eating Gluten-Free
Foods to Eat During Your Period
Latest Health & Fitness