Which Starter Pokémon Should You Choose in Pokémon Legends: Arceus?

Cyndaquil, Rowlet and Oshawott, the starter Pokémon in Pokémon Legends: Arceus.
Game Freak / Nintendo

In Pokémon Legends: Arceus, you choose Cyndaquil, Rowlet or Oshawott as your starter Pokémon. Whoever you pick will be by your side in the early battles and will be one of the first Pokémon you evolve, so it’s important to be happy with your decision. So who should you pick? Each starter Pokémon has its strengths and weaknesses (and they’re all equally as cute) so we’ve broken it all down for you to help you make the right choice.

Who Are the Starter Pokémon in Pokémon Legends: Arceus?

Cyndaquil. Game Freak / Nintendo


Cyndaquil is a fire-type Pokémon who first appeared in Pokémon Gold and Silver. In Arceus, Cyndaquil evolves into Quilava and Hisuian Typhlosion, who’s a fire/ghost-type. Cyndaquil is a good starter Pokémon because you won’t find many other fire-types at the start of the game, so it can make early battles much easier by having one on your team.

Oshawott. Game Freak / Nintendo


Oshawott is a water-type Pokémon who evolves into Dewott and the dark/water-type Hisuian Samurott. Oshawott has low defense stats to begin with, so you might struggle in the early fights. The upside is that it has a strong Attack and Special Attack, and the Hisuian Samurott is a very strong Pokémon for end-game battles.

Rowlet. Game Freak / Nintendo


Rowlet is a grass/flying-type Pokémon who evolves into Dartrix and Hisuian Decidueye. One of the main reasons to choose Rowlet as your starter Pokémon is because it specialises in grass and flying abilities, whereas Cyndaquil and Oshawott only have one type. On the flipside, the Hisuian Decidueye is a grass/fighting-type who might not be as strong in later battles as the other starter Pokémon evolutions are.


No matter who you choose, you’ll need to round out your team with other Pokémon to overcome the dangers of the Hisui region. In Pokémon Legends: Arceus, gym leaders have been replaced by powerful Noble Pokémon. There are five you’ll have to battle — one in each zone of the map — including a bug/rock-type, a grass/fighting-type and a fire/rock-type. You can use your starter Pokémon to help you prepare for these fights, but you’ll still need to spend some time evolving your other Pokémon as well.

There’s no wrong choice for your starter Pokémon, so it’s ultimately about who you prefer — and who you think is the cutest, which is obviously Oshawott.

Related Posts
Latest Gaming
The End.

The next story, coming up!