The New World of Warcraft Expansion Lets You Play as a Dragon (and Ride One)

Artwork for the World of Warcraft expansion Dragonflight.

World of Warcraft: Dragonflight is the next major expansion for the MMO, and it’s going to carry on one of the oldest stories in Azeroth.

Set in Dragon Isles following the dragon’s return to the land, the expansion will take players on an epic adventure to reinstate the dragons as the protectors of Azeroth. To help you bring about a new age of dragons, Dragonflight will add a new playable race, the dracthyr, and a new ranged class, the Evoker. Interestingly, only dracthyr can only play as Evokers, and they also can’t play as any other class.

The dracthyr Evoker begins at level 58 in its own starting zone. Dracthyr get new character customisation options, including the ability to create two forms of your character: a dragon form and a humanoid visage that you can transform into.

The Dragon Isles will be comprised of four huge zones, each hiding ancient treasures and secrets. “Exploration is a key theme for this expansion and players will be able to adventure in this ancient land and explore the landscapes and its architectural history,” Blizzard said in a post announcing the expansion. “The heroes of Azeroth will work alongside The Reliquary and the Explorers’ League to help the dragonflights to help them find their legacy, as they have long helped the residents of Azeroth. It’s a true Azerothian adventure waiting to be had and explored.”

You’ll also be able to explore on the back of a dragon, even if you’re not a dracthyr. The expansion adds the new Dragonriding skill and the ability to customise your drake mounts with a variety of options including snout, horns, tails, armour and more.

World of Warcraft: Dragonflight doesn’t have a release date yet, but you can sign up for the beta here.

Related Posts
Latest Gaming
The End.

The next story, coming up!